Climate Leadership Award Winners Announced

Press Release
February 28, 2013

Climate Leadership Award Winners Announced

WASHINGTON – Seventeen companies, four local governments and two individuals are being honored today for their exemplary leadership in addressing climate change at the second annual Climate Leadership Awards.

The awards are given by the EPA’s Center for Corporate Climate Leadership, in collaboration with the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions, the Association of Climate Change Officers and The Climate Registry.

“Our Climate Leadership Award winners are leading by example with their outstanding actions to reduce carbon pollution,” said Gina McCarthy, assistant administrator for EPA’s Office of Air and Radiation. “These organizations are tackling the challenge of climate change with practical, common-sense, and cost-saving solutions to improve efficiency and cut waste.”

The national awards program honors corporate, organizational, and individual leadership in reducing greenhouse gas emissions in internal operations and throughout the supply chain. A wide array of industries are represented by these organizations, including construction, finance, defense, transportation, retail, energy and technology.

Organizational Leadership Award: Boulder County, Colo.; City of Austin, Texas; Intel Corporation; Port of San Diego; and Sonoma County Water Agency

Individual Leadership Award: Tamara ‘TJ’ DiCaprio, Senior Director of Environmental Sustainability , Microsoft Corporation; and J. Wayne Leonard, Former Chairman and CEO of Entergy Corporation

Supply Chain Leadership Award: Cisco Systems, Inc.; IBM; and San Diego Gas & Electric

Excellence in Greenhouse Gas Management (Goal Achievement Award): Abbott; CSX Transportation, Inc.; Limited Brands, Inc.; Office Depot; Raytheon Company; Staples, Inc.; Tiffany & Co.; and Turner Construction Company

Excellence in Greenhouse Gas Management (Goal Setting Certificate): Bank of America; Lockheed Martin Corporation; Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC); SC Johnson & Sons, Inc.; and Wells Fargo and Company

“After a year of record heat and drought, action on climate change and clean energy is more urgent than ever,” said C2ES President Eileen Claussen. “We join EPA in applauding the winners of the Climate Leadership Awards. These companies, organizations, and individuals demonstrate every day the possibility of a prosperous low-carbon future. Hopefully, their accomplishments will spur and challenge others to take steps that are good for both the economy and the environment.”

“The 2013 Climate Leadership Award winners are leading the way on integrating climate response into their organizational culture,” said Daniel Kreeger, ACCO executive director. “They are demonstrating true commitment to managing and reducing GHG emissions in internal operations and throughout the supply chain, as well as integrating climate related risk management into their operational strategies. The winners are not only exemplary corporate, organizational, and individual leaders, but their actions provide a blueprint to catalyze the efforts of other organizations and individuals.”

“The Climate Registry applauds the meaningful action taken by this year’s impressive award winners to demonstrate leadership in their response to climate change,” said David Rosenheim, executive director of TCR. “These deserving organizations lead the way for reducing carbon pollution through greater transparency and consistent data, contributing to a stronger platform for energy and climate policies to build from.”

The awards were presented at the Climate Leadership Conference in Washington, D.C.

More about the recognition categories and the Climate Leadership Award winners:

Follow EPA’s Center for Corporate Climate Leadership on Twitter:

Contact Information: Molly Hooven,, 202-564-2313, 202-564-4355