Early Action Conference


September 13, 1999
8:00-8:45 am
Registration and Continental Breakfast
9:00 -10:30 am
Welcome and Opening Remarks by Eileen Claussen, Executive Director, Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Keynote Address, Dennis H. Reilley, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, DuPont
The Case for Early Action, MODERATOR: Eileen Claussen

  • Aidan Murphy, Vice President, Global Climate Change, Shell International
  • Dale Landgren, Assistant Vice President, Business Planning, Wisconsin Electric Power Company
  • George Meyer, Secretary, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
  • Larry Wallace, Chief Operating Officer, City of Atlanta

10:30-10:45 am Break
10:45 am -12:15 pm
Review of Early Action Proposals, MODERATOR: Robert Friedman, Vice President for Research, The H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and the Environment

  • Jimmie Powell, Staff Director, Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works
  • David Garman, Chief of Staff, Senator Frank Murkowski
  • Richard Aiken, Legislative Assistant, Congressman Rick A. Lazio
  • Al Alm, Executive Vice President, The Columbus Group

12:15-1:45 pm  Lunch
Robert Luft, Chairman, Entergy Corp.
2:00-3:45 pm
Legal and Policy Issues Roundtable Discussion: Program Scope, Sequestration, Past Emissions, International, Moderator: Martin McBroom, Director, Business Environmental Leadership Council, Center for Climate and Energy Solutions

  • Dale Heydlauff, Vice President, Environmental Affairs, American Electric Power
  • Dan Lashof, Senior Scientist, Natural Resources Defense Council
  • Michael Oppenheimer, Chief Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund
  • Bob Prolman, Director, International Environmental Affairs, Weyerhaeuser
  • David Victor, Senior Fellow, Science and Technology, Council on Foreign Relations

3:45-4:00 pm  Break
4:00-5:45 pm 
Legal and Policy Issues in Design Roundtable Discussion: Double-counting, Additionality, Leakage, Rates vs. Tons, Moderator: Vicki Arroyo Cochran, Director of Policy Analysis, Center for Climate and Energy Solutions

  • Robert Nordhaus, Member, Van Ness Feldman, P.C.
  • Mark L. Perlis, Attorney, Dickstein, Shapiro, Morin & Oshinsky LLP
  • Ken Colburn, Director, Air Resources Division, New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
  • Kevin Fay, Executive Director, International Climate Change Partnership

5:45-7:00 pm Reception

September 14, 1999
7:30-8:15 am
Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:30-10:30 am
Technical Issues: Baselines and Inventories, Moderator: Bill Wescott, Associate Director, Arthur D. Little

  • Judith Bayer, Director, Environmental Government Affairs, United Technologies Corp.
  • Leslie McGeorge, Director, Division of Science, Research and Technology, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
  • John Carberry, Director, Environmental Technology, DuPont

10:30-10:45 am Break
10:45 am -12:20 pm
Technical Issues: Verification, Moderator: Darryl Banks, Vice President and Senior Consultant, CH2M HILL

  • Ned Helme, Executive Director, Center for Clean Air Policy
  • John L. Marion, Manager, Strategic Technology Planning, ABB Alstom Power
  • Rich Guimond, Director, Environment, Health & Safety, Motorola
  • Ralph C. Feeney, North American HSE Issue Manager, Health, Safety and Environment, BP Amoco

12:20-12:30 pm
Closing remarks by Gerald Hapka, Deputy Executive Director, Pew Center on Global Climate Change