U.S. State Climate Action Plans

34 states have released a climate action plan or are in the process of revising or developing one. This includes 28 states that have released plans, four states that are updating their plans, and two states that are developing a plan. One state, Alaska, has rescinded its climate action plan.

Climate action plans generally include greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reduction targets and detail actions the state can take to help meet those goals. The plans may also include additional components such as resilience strategies, clean energy targets, and economic and social goals. The individual characteristics of each state’s economy, resource base, and political structure provide different opportunities for addressing climate change.

Last updated October 2021.