Toward 2015: An International Climate Dialogue

The Center for Climate and Energy Solutions is convening an informal dialogue among officials from more than 20 countries on options for a new global climate agreement.

The Toward 2015 dialogue provides an informal opportunity for participants to examine issues related to the ongoing Durban Platform negotiations. The goal of the Durban Platform talks is a new agreement under the U.N. Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) at the 21st Conference of the Parties (COP 21) in late 2015 in Paris.

Report of the Co-Chairs

October 2014

Participants, who take part in their personal capacities, are meeting five times in 2014 and will continue meeting in 2015. The dialogue’s aim is an open exchange of ideas and views contributing to deeper common understandings both among the participants and within the broader climate community.

The dialogue co-chairs have released a report drawing on discussions held in the first four sessions from March to September 2014.

Toward 2015 is made possible with financial support from the governments of Australia, Germany, Norway and Switzerland.


The dialogue is co-chaired by Valli Moosa of South Africa and Harald Dovland of Norway.

Mr. Moosa served as South Africa’s Minister for Environment from 1999 to 2004.  As a leader of the African National Congress, he supported President Mandela in negotiating the transition from apartheid to democracy.  He has served as President of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Chairman of Eskom, and Chairman of the UNFCCC High Level Panel on the CDM Policy Dialogue.  He is chairman of WWF (South Africa) and a Director of Lereko Investments, Sun International, Anglo Platinum, Sanlam and Imperial Holdings.

Mr. Dovland has served as Co-Chair of the UNFCCC Ad Hoc Working Group on the Durban Platform, Chair and Vice-Chair of the Ad Hoc Working Group on the Kyoto Protocol, and Chairman of the Subsidiary Body for Scientific and Technological Advice.  A former head of the Norwegian delegation to the UNFCCC, Mr. Dovland retired from the Ministry for the Environment in 2011, and is currently Climate Policy Director for the consulting firm Carbon Limits.

(Participating in personal capacities. Title and affiliation included for informational purposes only).

Justin Lee
Ambassador for Climate Change
Sustainability and Climate Change Branch, Multilateral Policy Division
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Raphael Azeredo
Director, Department for the Environment and Special Affairs
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Isabel Cavelier
Team Leader, Support Unit
Independent Association of Latin America and the Caribbean (AILAC)
Gao Feng
Special Representative for Climate Change Negotiations
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Jake Werksman
Principal Adviser
DG Climate Action
European Commission
Laurence Tubiana
Ambassador for Climate Change Negotiations
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Pa Ousman Jarju
MInistry of Environment, Climate Change, Water Resources, Parks and Wildlife
The Gambia
Karsten Sach
Deputy Director General
Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety
Leon Charles
Lead Climate Change Negotiator
Hideaki Mizukoshi
Deputy Director General for Global Issues
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Alejandro Rivera Becerra
Director for Environmental Governance
Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores
Jo Tyndall
Climate Change Ambassador
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
New Zealand
Aslak Brun
Chief Climate Negotiator
Ministry of Climate and Environment
Rómulo Acurio
Director de Medio Ambiente
Ministerio des Relaciones Externales
Oleg Shamanov
Head of Division
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Russian Federation
Khalid Abuleif
Sustainability Advisor to the Minister, Chief Negotiator for Climate Agreements,
Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources
Saudi Arabia
Fook Seng Kwok
Ambassador, Chief Negotiator for Climate Change
Climate Change Office
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Alf Wills
Deputy Director-General
Department of Environmental Affairs
South Africa
Franz Perrez
Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications

Pete Betts
Director, International Climate Change
Department of Energy and Climate Change
United Kingdom
Trigg Talley
Deputy Special Envoy for Climate Change
Department of State
United States
Claudia Salerno
Viceminister for North America
Ministry of People’s Power for Foreign Affairs

Additional C2ES resources on the international climate talks