Ten U.S. States Join in Forming International Carbon Action Partnership

On October 29, 2007, a number of governments from around the world announced the formation of the International Carbon Action Partnership. Each of the member governments has either established or is in the process of designing cap and trade systems to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The Partnership will provide a forum for members to share experiences, research, and best practices on the design of trading schemes. This will help the different trading systems develop in a compatible manner to facilitate the transition to a potential global carbon market in the future. The 10 U.S. state members are Arizona, California, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, and Washington. The other members include nine European Union countries, the European Commission, two Canadian provinces, New Zealand and Norway.

Press Release
International Carbon Action Partnership