Ten States Sue EPA Over Global Warming

On April 27, 2006, ten states, including New York, California, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Wisconsin, filed a lawsuit against the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for its decision not to regulate carbon dioxide emissions as a contributor to global warming. The states, led by New York Attorney General Eliot Spitzer and joined by the cities of Washington, D.C. and New York and by environmental groups, urged the federal government to require tighter controls on GHG emissions from new power plants. EPA spokeswoman Jennifer Wood said the agency will review all options and make an informed decision on how to proceed.

Press Release