Eileen Claussen

Hon. Eileen Claussen

Eileen Claussen is President of the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES) and Strategies for the Global Environment. In 1998, she founded the Pew Center on Global Climate Change, which became C2ES in 2011. Under Ms. Claussen’s leadership, C2ES has become widely recognized in the United States and internationally as a leading independent voice for practical policy and action to address the twin challenges of energy and climate change.

C2ES has consistently been named among the top environmental think tanks in the world by the University of Pennsylvania’s Global Go-To Think Tank Index and was honored by the Clinton Global Initiative for the success of its “Make an Impact” program in empowering individuals to save energy.

Ms. Claussen held several senior posts during more than 20 years of government service before launching the Center. From 1987 to 1993, she was Director of the Office of Atmospheric Programs for the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), where she led efforts to protect the ozone layer, managed EPA’s energy efficiency programs, including creation of the popular Energy Star program, and was responsible for the acid rain emissions trading program under a Title IV of the Clean Air Act. As chair of the Montreal Protocol Multilateral Fund, Ms. Claussen was instrumental in negotiating and implementing the Montreal Protocol, a treaty curbing the production of ozone-depleting CFCs.

From 1993 to 1996, Claussen served as a Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Global Environmental Affairs at the National Security Council. She went on to serve as Assistant Secretary of State for Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, where she led U.S. diplomacy on issues such as global warming, biodiversity, forest management, oceans, desertification and trade and the environment.

Ms. Claussen has been the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the Fitzhugh Green Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Environmental Protection and the Meritorious Executive Award for Sustained Superior Accomplishment. She is the recipient of the Department of State’s Career Achievement Award and the Distinguished Executive Award for Sustained Extraordinary Accomplishment. She is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Ecomagination Advisory Board, The National Petroleum Council, and the Singapore International Advisory Committee. She received an Honorary Doctor of Science degree from Loughborough University. She also served as the Timothy Atkeson scholar in residence at Yale University.